Reclining Moore

The day was dreich with fine rain drifting in from the south-west. Down in the Bay the wave action has sorted bits of old metal and a few more bullets on the wave cut platform. I then explored the edges of the recent cliff fall and found the pictured piece of flint. After these falls it is possible to find unbroken flints that still have their fine points. This one really struck as so Henry-Moore-like I brought it home.

It reminded me of one of Moore's interesting wooden reclining figures. There is a great photo (you have to scroll down a-ways) of him and Bernard Meadows and someone else struggling with it on a wheelbarrow. It's Elm wood by the way. This was when Moore lived near here - at a house called Burcroft in Kingston on the Dover - Canterbury road before the IIWW. (See also the stunning photo of Moore and Barbara Hepworth - in that long black dress - at Happisburgh in Norfolk.

I've put an extra of the metal collected by the sea's sorting actions - iron, lead and brass. I found a much larger, stone and gravel encrusted bullet. I flung it as far as I could in the tide 'and bade it a tedious returning'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.