Walking back home

A day spent mostly at Amsterdam airport. Having arrived before mid-day, after the torture that is check in and passport and stuff and body screening, two hours later said goodbye to 25 students and colleague friend Robin for their 14.40 flight to Istanbul.  This was followed by the long wait I until it was time for my 17.00 flight that landed one hour later at 17.00 at Gatwick, where mbfiatw Jean was waiting for me and has brought me back to her house in Kent where I will stay for a couple of days before going to Chelmsford for the rest of the week.

The photo is of a sculpture at Schipol airport.  I couldn't find anything about it, but liked it.  (Later - I now realise, (thanks to briocarioca) that it is "Johnnie Walker".)  The fact that he is mid-stride seems to be particularly relevant on a day when walking to my departure gate took so long that I felt like I was walking to London, at the end of a week when I calculate that I easily walked more than 50km - 32 miles or thereabouts.  

It was a momentus week with my lovely students, so much success, such a wealth of major Art, but, oh how nice to be in the UK for a week....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.