Islas Ballestas, Peru

What an amazing day!  We are currently in Pisco, Peru, and today I took a boat excursion out to Islas Ballestas, a wildlife sanctuary off the coast.  Steep, rocky islands rear up out of the ocean, covered -- and I mean covered -- with birds and sea lions (and guano!).

I felt like I was in the middle of a Jacques Cousteau documentary!  As we approached the islands, thousands and thousands of birds flew in a circular pattern overhead.  Pelicans, cormorants, terns, boobies, and who knows what else!  I have never seen so many birds in one place -- like a murmuration of starlings on steroids!  The islands are also a breeding ground for sea lions, and this is right in the middle of their birthing season, so there were hundreds and hundreds of mothers and babies and big bulls lounging on the shore, all roaring and shouting.  An amazing sight!  Another wonderful sight was the many adorable Humboldt Penguins who also live here, sandwiched in amongst the pelicans and boobies.  (See extra.)  I just couldn't believe what I was seeing!  I really felt blessed and honoured to witness this incredible area teeming with life.  What an astonishing world we live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.