A year off the river

By myotherlife

Quiz time?

OK, this may turn into a rant, but given that I wasted my blip time on this, I feel I need to explain why I've been forced to post possibly the worst blip in the world.

I changed energy suppliers at Christmas and got my first bill at the weekend. Given that I changed to get a "better deal" I was a "bit" surprised to find my bill was 3 times what it was previously. Having checked the readings, the rates and the surprisingly simple calculation to convert readings into kWh I discovered they were charging me as if my meter was reading in cubic feet not cubic meters as my meter actually reads. So I phoned them up and a very nice lady confirmed that they were charging me in feet and if I just did a couple of checks they'd change it back and all would be well with the world.

So, I got home, checked there were five numbers in the black on the meter and that it said m3 after the figures which apparently is the giveaway - what no really, it measures in the unit on the meter - marvellous. Seemed like and open and shut case.

Clearly the call centre only employs the monkeys in the evening and after 30 minutes on the phone, explaining (what had taken less than 2 in the morning) he still didn't get it. Apparently the fact that the meter says m3 on it, that I've always been charged that way, that it's a new meter (installed long since imperial meters were no longer fitted) is all irrelevant because their computer says it's an imperial meter. So they'll have to sent an engineer out to check that it says m3 on the meter.

I offered the photo as evidence, but apparently that's no good, as their computer is never wrong and they are only sending their engineer to check their computer and prove that it's in feet. Oh and the engineer can't call for several weeks 'cos there's the olympics or something and the traffic will be terrible.... etc.

Anyway I'll leave you to judge for yourself, I think the meter's measuring m3 myself?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.