Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Vatican Museums

I booked a tour of the Vatican Museums today so it was up very early to get to the office. Quite nice to walk through the Square before anyone was around, apart from a few nuns rushing to 7am Mass!

The tour was great, and this is the Map Room with a carved ceiling. Stunning. I learnt a lot from the guide, who was extremely knowledgeable about history. The Sistine Chapel was beautiful but no photos allowed for copyright reasons apparently!

We had a slightly shorter tour than normal as today is a special day in the Catholic calendar so the Basilica of St Peter was closing early for a service taken by the Pope. As it was included in the tour price, our guide wanted to get us in there before the doors closed so we missed one of the museums.

It is a jubilee year, so the Holy Doors are open. The idea is that you go through it (or a certain number of them) and you are purified of your sins. I actually did go through it, and am sin-free (despite not being Catholic)!

The Basilica was stunning though packed by now so I may try to go again another time. Went to the souvenir shop at the Basilica and bought some beautiful (and quite pricey) rosary beads. My dad gave me some money at Christmas so I promised myself I would get something special in Rome - so I have!

Went for a delicious lunch afterwards at a place in Prati recommended by Lonely Planet - raw shrimps anyone? With smoked aubergine puree and burrata - gorgeous! Followed by lamb with herbs and artichoke, and then tiramisu for dessert. Absolutely divine.

I waw then feeling quite tired so came back to the hotel at about 3.30pm and have relaxed a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.