Bom

By Bom

Tiny Witch

I got home today after a wonderful few days in Norfolk with my friends G & M and with M & M staying too.  It was really lovely for G and I to both celebrate our birthdays together and with friends.

So as it's Tuesday I started looking around for a tiny subject for the Tiny Tuesday challenge, thanks to Trisharooni for hosting.  I thought I'd photograph this tiny witch, a present from my great friend T, against a background of a box of matches for context (desaturated slightly to avoid them dominating too much!).  She normally sits in the hand of another spooky ornament, a Hengeman (a black cloaked figure which is sort of hollowed out),

Did you know that:
- King James VI of Scotland (later James I of England) wrote a book about witches and demons;
- There are four witches in Macbeth, not three as Hecate, Queen of the witches, appears in a scene which is often left out;
- There were 270 Witch Trials in Elizabethan England, of 247 women and 23 men;
- A woman who lived alone and who kept animals for company would be in danger of being accused of being a witch;
- Pope Innocent VIII issued a papal bull that recognised the existence of witches;
- The Witchcraft Act of 1735 was technically still official until 1951 when it was replaced by the Fraudulent Mediums Act.  The last person convicted under the Act was in 1944.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.