Chiptastic Chums

"Are you in for a cuppa? "
"Yes :)"

I nipped round to see Ellen.  We had drink and then she said she was going up to Swinton Precinct for a few bits 'n' bobs and did I want to go...I had nothing else planned, so why not. 

Swinton Precinct....hmmm, what can I say about it? Well the wind whooshed through it, the same old shops cling on there, but I actually have fond memories of it. When I was allowed to go off on a bus with my friend we used to go up to Swinton and I would buy Blue Jeans and a bag of Malteasers and she would buy Jackie and a bag of Minstrels. We would go back to her house where the we would sprawl around on the top floor of her house reading comics, eating chocolate and then playing a few frames of snooker on the full sized table she had and lots of pool...we loved playing pool. Oh we thought we were so cool! (Little bit of gossip here...Ryan Giggs bought that house, knocked it down and built another one there). Anyway...we were coooool!

I didn't buy a comic today. But..."Do you fancy a cone of chips?" Ooh yes I did! We chomped on chips as the wind buffeted us and I stuck the timer on the camera. Chips on the precinct, loverly jubberly. 

Then, the icing on the cake...well icing on a bun really....Ellen bought a bakewell tart for herself and an iced finger for me to have with another cuppa when we arrived home...because we know how to partay! 

"What's in the box?" I asked as we munched our cakes. It turned out to be a two tiered cake stand she had been given for her birthday. Well...have two women laughed as much as we did today as Ellen tried to assemble it...I don't think so! We fiddled and faffed, we screwed (oh yes, we giggled at all the innuendoes), we put washers on, we took washers off, we took photos of wonky plates, I made a video of How not to assemble a two tier cake stand (which was very shaky as I couldn't stop laughing)....but we could not do it. "I'm going to phone the manufacturers," Ellen announced. 

"Hello...I have one of your two tiered cake stands, but I'm having trouble assembling it."

"I'm sorry that's my friend laughing....and we aren't drunk, honestly"

"Well, when I put the screw in the metal pole it screws in, but when I put the plate between them it won't screw in."

"It is the wild bird pattern one." (what difference does the pattern make, she mouthed at me)

"Ask him if they'll send an engineer out," I said......she nearly did, but started with hysterical laughter instead.

I don't know how she managed to keep up the conversation because we were crying mascara tears. Anyway, they are sending out a new screw!!!

I hope it arrives before Saturday as Ellen is going to make scones and invite the coven round.






 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.