Breaking...........

............Free
 
 
This morning I was in time to capture these photos of a Monarch Butterfly emerging from its chrysalis.
I have included several photos as extras showing the sequence from the chrysalis just breaking to the full extension of the wings for drying. It truly is magical watching nature at work.
 
Very few of the rescued caterpillars have made their chrysalis on the swan plants or this succulent. The majority attached themselves to the roof of the caterpillar house. That is fascinating too as the silk thread has formed a ‘blanket’ effect – so shear and so delicate looking, but strong enough to hold the weight of the almost sixty chrysalis.
 
These photos have been added to the tagged group of photos I started last summer which shows the various stages of the cycle of the monarch butterfly.  
 
I want to say a really huge thank you for the fantastic response to yesterday’s blip. What a thrill to find this photo sitting near the top of page one of the Popular pages this morning and as I write it is sitting in number two spot.  I am delighted you enjoyed seeing this photo.  That particular caterpillar seemed to have quite a personality - it still makes me chuckle when I think of its antics. Every heart, star and comment you gave is really appreciated. Thank you.
 
 
Three butterflies emerged today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.