Grime

After work I had my nervously anticipated appointment with the orthopedic surgeon. Orthopods have a fearsome reputation but I found John excellent. He speaks my language and doesn't want to unnecessarily curtail my activities.

He explained my right knee x-ray to me. While it's hard to ignore the whooping great lump on the outside of it, the actual knee joint is in good form. I still have plenty of cartilage and it's in good shape.

The lump though large, isn't sinister. It's likely a meniscal cyst, and unless an ultrascan shows anything different (unlikely), we'll leave it alone. I'm pretty happy about that :-)

It gives me some discomfort and irritation but nothing that stops me. He roared with laughter when I told him sometimes it's a "bit of a bother" when I'm faced with steep rock to either climb or get down in alpine environments. "There are plenty of other body parts screaming so I don't notice my knee much".

Like I say, John the orthopod speaks my language.

Next step is a ultrascan, mostly to give us a base line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.