Bookends

“There are a good many books, are there not, my boy?” said Mr. Brownlow, observing the curiosity with which Oliver surveyed the shelves that reached from the floor to the ceiling."

For today's Dickens challenge, I thought I might be able to find among some old books I've collected from the family over the years, a book dating back to Dickensian times. Alas the oldest I could find was chosen by my grandmother at Sunday School I think from under the Christmas tree, and is dated 1877, so Dickens had already died about 7 years previously. The others aren't as old but Palgrave and Browning were Dickens' contemporaries.
The extra shows the inscription in Granny' s bible story book. Whoever wrote it couldn't spell very well!
Dickens challenge set by Hildasrose and Chantler63

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.