Long Slow Distance

By platanos

My Rs

I've always thought my handwriting to be a bit, how shall I say, crap. As a youngster learning to write I was instructed in the "new" form of handwriting that was introduced in the 1950s, along with ball point pens, that would do away with the flourishes and loops of the former era. I was sad to lose my loops. They were drummed out of me. The new way was rather like printing joined up, but no no no loops allowed. However, now in my late 50s my handwriting has turned into an erratic scrawl that I sometimes have trouble in reading immediately after writing it. Having learned to touch type at the age of 12 on old manual typewriters I am far more at home with a keyboard than a pen... but I do feel my "Rs", as in my signature, are things of beauty, and am quite proud they have have loops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.