horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Calm Amidst the Storm

Good grief Christmas shopping has arrived with a vengeance hasn't it? Here's a newsflash: IT'S STILL NOVEMBER!

I love Christmas, I'm as big a kid now as I was at 8 years old, but even I try to quarantine all of the excitement to later in the year. I was doing someone at work a favour (actually, doing her sister-in-law a favour) and picking up some boots from a store for her, and the shops were already at truly insane levels. Credit crunch?

I popped by the office afterwards to drop off the shoes, and my suit, after I went out for a drink straight from there on Friday night. Also meant I could pick up my bike to ride in tomorrow morning, meaning I don't have to suffer a lift or the bus tomorrow before being able to ride home. Which is just as well given how fecked off the traffic got me this afternoon. A combination of people who shouldn't be allowed to tie their own shoelaces let alone drive, and another rearrangement of the roadworks in the city causing at least two major diversions (that you're not told about till you reach the blockage).

And people wonder why I ride in the city instead of driving...

Still, earlier in the day a wander round an odd Art Fair (£5 entry put me off it a bit, as did much of the art of show) and a nicer gander at the Nomad's Tent (with some free mulled wine - I forgave them the Christmas connotations given alcohol was involved) gave a more relaxing complexion to the day.

And now Empire Strikes Back is on the telly, a bottle of Trade Winds is being drained, and I've got free rein to get some stuff done online tonight for a couple of websites.

Just a pity it's Monday tomorrow...

EDIT: Just agreed to cook dinner tonight. Given yesterday's blip you'll realise this isn't really a hardship...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.