Cloudy Showy

Tonight a wee trip to Greenock as Mimi was competing in the Greenock Arts Festival in the verse sight reading class.

I have to admit I was concerned, I have learned a lot in recent years about how deaf children and indeed adults learn differently, how due to their deafness their brains process information differently to people in the hearing world.  Mimi takes these things in her stride and I was so proud of her for having the fortitude to put herself out there and enter a very difficult class.

The test piece was The Scorpion by Roald Dahl, Mimi was first up and, with two minutes to prepare she took to the stage and she blew me away with her performance, she was just superb.

She ultimately finished third in a class of ten  and was very dissapointed in herself, I on the other hand was so very very proud of her, she really is a star, a beautiful, talented, gifted young lady and I am in awe of her.

Now for the RANT!!!! Why in the name of all that is holy do the bureaucrats who run such events not allow parents to photograph their children.  It disgusts me that in this politically correct age it is seen as not appropriate to be able to record a moment of joy in a child's life,for posterity, so no photo of Mimi just the stormy clouds to match how I feel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.