Battlements

I went down to the Gateshead office where a colleague read a scripted Announcement from Management. Emmala and doubtless many other pals were listening to it in various locations at the same time. It was extremely depressing but not really a surprise - I'm not upset for myself since I'm getting the hell out, but for all my excellent colleagues and for what has been a superb and unique institution for almost 45 years. Oh well, Iain MacLeod (younger blippers may need to use their search engine of choice) thought the whole idea was "blithering nonsense" at the outset, and that it should have been "strangled at birth". Although come to think of it the latter quote was maybe from Keith Joseph.....

On my way back to the station I passed by the castle and glanced up as I always do just in case meancoast is up on the battlements - but instead saw this wiry figure. He's brandishing his sword vaguely in the direction of anyone who might come sailing up the Tyne in an offensive manner.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.