Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Roots

As the weather today reverted to dismal, consolation arrived in the form of my book from Scotland's DNA. I've already seen my results online, but it's so much easier to follow the main points in book form, to say nothing of leaving it lying around for my offspring to find...

Fascinating to find so much from a small sample of spit! For example, by passing on my DNA to my sons, I've halved their chance of going bald - and because I'm predominantly blue/green-eyed, and married to another blue-green-eyed person, they never stood a chance of having brown eyes, which all our ancestors had. Oh, and I have no red hair genes at all, despite the present colour of my hair.

These are the easy bits. There's a lot more I'll have to read more carefully. But one thing is certain. I've handed my own mitochondrial DNA to my sons, but that's the end of that line. They don't hand them on to their children. So the 16% of women in the UK with my DNA won't be getting any boost from that direction ...

Fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.