I struggled to sleep last night.  The news about Dave Mirra didn't take long to read, but it was difficult to comprehend, and spending ages reading the outpouring of love and memories from fellow BMX riders around the world was heartbreaking.

It seems impossible to think someone who's achieved so much and become an icon for so many people could lose his ability to see himself as a worthwhile human being that deserves his place on this earth.  And leaving behind a family no less......it's just incomprehensible.

Dave's influence was far reaching, and I'll never forget the hours and hours I spent playing Dave Mirra's Pro BMX 2 on Playstation, helping me keep that drive to go out into the real world on a silly little kids bike and have loads of fun doing it.

My next ride will be for Dave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.