Rodents rule

By squirk

Strata Tower, peeking

I enjoyed a cycle adventure into London this afternoon, stopping to explore East Street Market and coming across the marvellous Nursery Row Park with its wonderful wildflowers and views to the Strata Tower and The Shard skyscrapers.

The ride took the bicycle to the Museum of London, which I think I visited a long time ago, but I've since forgotten it. There wasn't time or brain capacity to view everything, so I browsed the prehistoric and Roman sections. I was particularly impressed by the auroch skulls and a Roman ring showing two mice dining together (see the bottom of this link).

Outside, several people played the piano that has been placed there as part of Play me, I'm Yours. One young teenager played amazingly, followed by two youngsters who just pushed random keys, but that could be some modern piece of jazz or something.

In the evening, I met up with friends and took a small picnic to West Norwood Cemetery to hear storytellers in the Greek chapel. We were asked to bring lanterns, but (disappointingly) it wasn't ever dark enough to use them. My favourite part of the evening were the dancers clad in black feathers and chimney-sweep-blackened faces. They were fantastic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.