Part of the Furniture.

Last night was a very unusual night! I'd just started work when the man from the general store next door came round and asked my boss if he could borrow a member of staff as he had a meeting to go to and someone had called in sick, leaving just one member of staff in his shop. He didn't want to leave her alone for security reasons. After a bit of deliberation, Lee asked if I'd mind going. Well, a change is as good as a rest, I thought...

Turns out I would rather work in a chippy than a grocery store! It was cold, quite boring and all the standing around made it more tiring ! I was limited as to what I could do of course so maybe with full training it wouldn't be so bad! 

All the dodgiest chippy customers came in, but not so many of the nice ones too! There were quite a few people I didn't know, so maybe there's more of a potential customer base for us to target!

I went back to the chippy when the general store closed at 9PM to help clean up, and Lee told me that the shop had been very busy. Also there had been a half-hearted attempt at a robbery! 

Some dodgy chancers  not known to us had tried it on using the piece of wood we use to keep the door open as a weapon! Maybe we should go back to using a sponge to keep the door open - less chance of it being used to hit someone over the head! Lee managed to see them off, and the police have been shown the CCTV footage.

Last night also saw the start of the new Super League season. Because it is so late these days when I finish work, I have to have it recorded to catch up in the morning, which I hav done this morning, and the first match did not disappoint! Very entertaining as ever. My team, Wigan Warriors get their season underway against Catalans Dragons tonight, so I'm hoping they will get off to a good winning start.

I took this shot of Minstrel trying to become one with the sofa while I watched the build-up to the match!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.