Perch Bridge, Halton

Its hard to believe I know but today I visited a canal; this time I visited the Wendover Arm of the Grand Union canal. It runs for about 6 miles and this particular spot is where it cuts through the parish of Halton in Buckinghamshire.

The two shots are especially for you Croft16....

The bridge itself is obviously a replacement of the original which would have been brick built with a humped back, still a lovely bridge however and is of a similar design to the "blue" bridge constructed by Mr Rothschild to gain access to his abode Halton House which is further upstream. See here https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4669441 As you can see this part of the canal is not navigable and I think the only reason that there is water is due to the fact that it is Spring fed by water coming down from the Chiltern Hills. Historically the canal was built in 1797 but was abandoned by 1899 because it leaked so badly. It was completely out of use by 1903. Quite a large part of it is dry and the only stretch which is navigable is from the junction with the GU Canal at Bulbourne for approx 1.5 miles. I will have a look at that sometime this year.

I saw several people on my walk but nobody spoke apart from one old gent who was taking his afternoon constitutional. We both stopped and had a word & he told me the best places on the canal to spot Kingfishers. This is a real bonus & so I will back here again in the hope of getting a picture.....maybe.

It was a busy afternoon - first I was cajoled into going to look around a shop, then I had to call at Trudy's place again before dropping C off to see her Mum.  I drove on to Halton for the shots before returning & seeing Daph for 30 minutes.

Home now & the chicken is roasting....I am being begged to get the Prosecco opened which I had bought C for Valentines Day. Looks like I will need to get another one.

Enjoy your weekend & thanks for all your comments on yesterday's beehives !!

The extra is the same bridge but from the opposite (Wendover) side.

TTFN !

RIP Maurice White founder of Earth Wind & Fire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.