Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

A walk in Rickerby Park

I always like walking over this pedestrian footbridge to Rickerby Park in Carlisle.  It was opened in 1922 in memory of those who gave their lives in the Great War of 1914-18.  We had a lovely walk along the river and if I'd got my proper camera on me I would have been able to take some shots of some unusual ducks.  

Its such a shame to see all the empty houses around the park and other parts of Carlisle which are still being dried out.  Some people are living in caravans on the driveway.  Must have been so difficult to find alternative accommodation for so many hundreds of people. The pavements still have lots of skips full of people's belongings  and there are white vans all over the place!  Tesco's has reopened and as they sent me some money off vouchers with the first one about to expire I thought I'd better go and use it.   The store is now brand new and much more modern than it was before.  There are still some shops near the river which remain closed.

Now that I know there's an app on my phone which counts steps I've decided to set myself a little challenge and make sure I do the recommended 10,000 steps a day.  I've got a little stepper machine which I've been using in the evening to make sure I reach my target. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.