Disappointing

Waking to the sound of torrential rain - & then finding out it was also falling as rain at the top ski station we came to the decision that Cairngorm Trip No.2 was over - with the hills stripped of most of the snow its time to head back to the Lakes.
The drive down was horrendous - some of the worst conditions I've encountered in a long while - so eventually I pulled over at The Hermitage - somewhere I've often passed but never visited. I figured a quick walk in the woods would offer a break - and when the sign said I could follow the river Braan and see the UK's tallest tree I thought of a non grey blip! Sadly when I arrived at the viewing point it was a little, well, disappointing - sure its a big (212ft / 65m) Douglas Fir - but it really was only marginally taller than those around it & well - not as spectacular as I'd hoped - finding Ossains Castle to be locked I headed back to the car.
BUT - every day has a moment - and when I finally arrived home - today's was waiting for me - my first Blip book - built through Blurb. I have to say I'm really really impressed with the quality - and even the 'year 1, taken with phone' pics, that Blurb helpfully warned me were too low resolution, look fine. If the weather is like this all weekend then I'll happily crack on with 2015!

And so to Philosophy  Friday;
"Opportunity only dances with those already on the dance floor"
Jackson Browne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.