Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

On this day...

On this day, 10 July 1863, my great-grandfather, David Turner Robertson Urquhart, was born in 62 South Back of Canongate, Edinburgh. He was the 8th child (and reputedly one of 17) of George Urquhart (Urchart) and Alison Rehens/Nairn. He went on to marry Roseanne/Annie McGowan and they had 12 children (as far as my current research tells me). The 1891 Census has them living at 2 James Lane, Leith, at which time his profession is given as Cowleader (Unemployed).

The road nearest that area now was renamed Holyrood Road.

I've spent an interesting morning with my son Alex, discovering stories in my big family tree binder, which I'd love to have more time to spend on.

He was interested to find out that he is the 6th in a line of Alexander McNaughtons, stretching back to 1814 when his ancestor was born in Lisbon, Portugal due to the fact that his father and mother had gone there, possibly as his father was a soldier ?

Many more stories to eke out of these dull file pages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.