The second half of life..

By twigs

Mum

My beautiful, elegant, stoic, loving, funny, supportive, gorgeous mum - the woman who brought me into this world, raised me, loved me, taught me, hugged me, cried with me, kissed my scrapes and bruises better, laughed with me, talked with me, told me when I was being silly..........my beautiful, beautiful mum passed away today.  She wasn't always all of these things and she'd be the first to say she wasn't perfect.  But then,  I've not been the perfect daughter either.  She was - she is and always will be - my gorgeous mum.

The call from Fiona came out of the blue mid-afternoon......mid night-time in England.

I can barely begin to put my thoughts and feelings down here.  She knew she didn't want to carry on living, it was too difficult, too uncomfortable.  A soft, white fluffy cloud, floating off to Switzerland is all she wanted.  

Leaving her last week to fly back to NZ was the most difficult thing I've ever done - we both knew it was our final time together, our final hugs, our final kisses, our final words.......

She's at peace now, on a new journey back to Frank, right where she wanted to be.

God bless you Mum - I'll be home again soon.  Love you always & forever xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.