A Temple to Light

With the diminishing of congregations in the many churches that proliferated in days gone by, so many of the old buildings have been sold off and converted into a diverse selection of uses, houses, theatres, cafés, drop in centres and the church I was christened in, a Pizza parlour. However this church at the corner of the road where I was brought up and where my children had their Christmas Carol services has been converted into a temple to all things light giving, which seems somehow more appropriate

His Lordship and I had occasion to visit this morning to buy light bulbs which were stored upstairs in the very gallery where once I looked down fondly on little heads singing their heads off in the knowledge that term was all but finished and Santa Claus was packing his sleigh at the North Pole.

As I sit writing this, I notice that the grey skies have parted to the south over the Marchmont tenements and it looks as though the sun may appear. I hope this is a good omen for us Scots in today's Calcutta rugby match against the auld enemy, England.
We swagger through the streets in kilts and tartan and dare to hope but so often are we disappointed. May the best team win, so come on Scotland, make our day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.