bimble

By monkus

Mocchi maker

powering the machinery which makes the mocchi with his scooter in another beautiful illustration of humankind's ingenuity...mocchi being a sweet sticky gelatinous delight around a filling which I refrained from as my last piece a couple of weeks ago (peanut butter filling) removed the filling from my upper right molar...the background is the bling and paraphernalia of the coming lunar new year.

other news, of the more important type, is of a 6.4 earthquake which has hit tainan in the south of the island pretty badly. Probably worse in terms of victims as folk have returned home for the new year holiday. As far as I'm aware transport links are or were cut. And worse for those who remain trapped as the twentieth hour passes is a drop in temperature as another cold front approaches upon what is already hat and fleece weather. Tomorrow may include gloves. And as I type the news tells of rescue teams and aid from Japan.

Here in taipei the tremors shook the building to a pretty scary degree and the mrt was closed down until mid morning.

It seems a tad alien to me; living in the shadow of a faultline, the resilience of the common psyche of this place. There's a caring and considerate aspect which, when I look back west to Europe and especially yo the UK, appears to have eroded somewhat. It doesn't feel like the time for another rant, inappropriate in the context of the day but maybe just a muttering of one of my shadowing questions about our single human tribe and my lack of comprehension as to why we subdivide this along the lines of transience we term borders or transmute humanity into equations of finance. Who knows...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.