sandyshore

By sandyshore

Please, sir, I want some more

Not to get too heavy about this, and not to get too filled with hyperbole, I can't help but compare and contrast the Poor Law and workhouse system described in Dickens' books with the outrageous and cruel fate of most regular people in Ireland (or Greece, or Spain, or what you will). And here we have our Taoiseach, looking terribly serious and professional, telling us we are in recovery and let us not give up now, making his case for re-election in a few weeks. Well, yes, we are climbing out of the ditch maybe. Maybe. .... but my goodness what we have had to do and do away with. Hospitals, housing, jobs, pensions, water (water, for pity's sake), and any other publicly owned enterprise, by the end of this "recovery" we will have nothing. Nothing. The whole country was put in the workhouse by the bail outs.

And here we are commemorating 100 years since the Easter Rising and our path to becoming a Republic. And of course we are better off now than we were 100 years ago when children really ran barefoot on our streets and really lived on gruel, but I don't understand why we can't seem to get it right, why we are still struggling with providing for all. We have hotels full of homeless families and so many of our support systems have been decimated.

I don't really blame Enda Kenny, but I don't support him very much either. I don't share his vision for the future which is mainly just to re-run the past having learned no lessons. I do blame his opposition, FF, who were in power at the crash and the decade before, but even then it was all of them, all of us, who just don't seem to be able to get it right. 

Recovery. We are always in recovery, as far as I can see. I don't want to feel like the little workhouse boy pleading for more gruel but sometimes it feels like that. 


I could go on. :)

Yes, I used a colour filter on my photo, anything to lift the mood!
Here's something to lighten the mood: Irish Political Parties explained using Simpson characters.So true!

And it has become tradition since the crash for people to leave warning messages on their doors to deter canvassers. Here's a great example at
http://www.joe.ie/news/pic-someone-has-a-great-simpsons-themed-notice-up-to-keep-election-canvassers-away/529790

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.