Amur Maple

my favourite tree in the Botanical garden in Oslo. It looks a bit tragic, all lopsided and falling apart. But I love those  crooked branches and in the spring it gets really bright green leaves, and in the autumn it looks on fire with its bright orange/red colouring. The poor thing here is probably victim of children (I have no idea why it is so bend, but a big sign on one of the main branches says "No climbing" which makes me believe that´s why it looks like this).
I didn´t really know where to go today. Since it is the Sami peoples Day today, I could have chosen the city centre and get some shot of their colourful traditional clothes (I saw quite a few on the subway), or I could have gone to the ski jump again since the skifestival in going on this weekend. But there would have been hordes of people, and I was looking for some quiet time. Normally, the botanical gardens are full of people, but with so much going on else where, and the pathways being really icy and wet, I almost had the place for myself. Well, the outside parts anyway. There were a few people in the greenhouses. 
Extra is Paphiodelium, also called Venus slipper, in the Victoria House where a lot of exotic plants live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.