Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Friendly policemen high five with the torch crowd

An early start this morning as the Olympic torch passed within a 10 minute walk from my house at 7.41.

As everyone else on blip has said, it goes by in a flash! It was great to be a part of it though: lovely atmosphere and build-up. I bumped into loads of people that I hadn't seen in ages so didn't get back home for ages.

I managed an OK capture of the Jerry Anderson, an Olympic architect - although he has no connections to Abingdon as far as I know. However, I much prefer this shot of two patient and overawed children who were sitting nearby.

In the end though, this shot of the friendly Metropolitan Police outriders won the day. They did high fives (well - kind of sideways high fives if you know what I mean) with the awaiting crowds which delighted everyone, not just the kids!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.