Southam's Holy Well

Southam - a large(ish) village just east of Leamington, is not the sort of place I would have expected to find much in the way of local history, but, after a little research I found directions to the holy well just along the river Stowe.   One for Freespiral's International Holy Wells' Month.

It's not really a day for country walks so Gill and I just took an out and back to see it  and get this blip. The well is looked after and has a fence around it (see extra) which has been quite tastefully done rather than some horrendous wire mesh affair ...

More about the walk and the well here - probably best kept for a dry day :-)

The guide says the water is reputed to be very cold,  I dipped a finger in and can confirm they are spot on!  That might be why I've had to clone out an abandoned bright green dog ball :-)

Thanks for the comments & stars on yesterday's effort, I'm slowly catching up with comments while shaking off an irritating head cold :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.