The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

So relieved ...

When I turned out of the drive this morning I saw a little fox lying dead in the road outside the house. I pulled over and brought it back to the garden. I tried to work out who it was, as it's very likely one of mine. It's easier to determine who it *isn't* to be honest.

It's not Mama or Auntie as they have lovely big white tail tips, it's not Pointy as he has a notch in his ear, it's not Jack as he has a notch in his lip, it didn't seem big enough to be The Handsome Stranger. It wasn't Feisty as he'd just visited.

I had a good look at his eyes and tail tip and came to the unhappy conclusion that it must be Sweetpea as it has a very small white tail tip and one eye seemed quite damaged (not by the accident)

Sweetpea has a dodgy eye ..

I went out with my camera and photographed eight mystery birds on a telegraph wire - later identified as corn buntings, which is rather brilliant as they're red status, scarce birds!

I also got good views of a buzzard - who flew slightly closer when I turned off the van engine.

I came home feeling very sad that I'd never look out of the window again and see Sweetpea's little face staring back out me - and looked into the garden - AND THERE HE WAS!!!

I'm so relieved - and surprised how upset I've been about it all day. Of course I'm still upset about the little dead fox, and may realise who it must be at some point - but Sweetpea is a good friend and sleeps in the rockery next to the window most nights.

It's almost surprising this doesn't happen more often as we live on a busy dual carriageway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.