I didn't recognize this as a Bufflehead Duck because I thought they all had a big white head.....but I found her on the internet. I don't know why but I think this  is a very classy looking duck. She is rather small for a duck and her colors and design seem well coordinated and refined to me.  :-))
She was swimming near a marina in Nehalem Bay.....all alone.......the bit of color in the water behind her is from the rental canoes nearby on the dock.  

The weather is beautiful here today and we had a wonderful walk on the beach and out to the South Nehalem Jetty. The tide was out and there was a wide expanse of shore to walk on. The area on the shore near the jetty was littered with a lot of tree trunks, branches and assorted driftwood. The wood floats out the rivers into the ocean and then it washes on shore; high tide takes it way up on the shoreline or on top the rock jetty, then it is left there until the tide is high again and moves it around on the shore. The power of the water is amazing and we are warned to be very careful around logs since a "sneaker" wave can come up anytime and lift a log onto a person standing on it or near by!! The extra photos show some of the wood piled up.

Thanks for visiting and for all the nice comments, stars and hearts for my back yard birds. Now I will put up a few Oregon Coast Birds while we are over here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.