Rough Creek

I drove home from Christchurch today.  There was a lot of traffic because it was the end of a long weekend (Waitangi Weekend here - when we celebrate the Commonwealth's signing of the treaty with the local Maori in 1840).

Rather than get frustrated by the slow moving traffic in front of me, I pulled off regularly to let them get further ahead.  I got out of the car each time to take photos and generally unwind.  What should have been a 3 hour trip took 5, but I enjoyed the stops if not the slow driving.

One of the places I pulled over was Rough Creek.  A spot I've often driven past and thought, "I should stop there and photograph that creek," but never had done.  It's a pretty creek and the start of the "Rough Creek Track" - which  is a 6 hour walk to Lake Christabel.  One day, when I'm seriously fit, I'll do that walk!

Today I just made the most of the shade the bush offered to take a walk for about 10 minutes along the track.  It was a relief for Jasper and I as the outside temperature was 32 at that stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.