The Things They Come Up With

After a very enjoyable and sunny walkie, mum wanted us to watch cross country skiing. I am beginning to suspect that this is, in essence, pointless. Norway always wins. The Swedes are not on form, have asthma, break their skis (yes!), give up halfway through... Mum said this was the classic Holmenkollen 30k, so we did watch it. But basically we looked at a milky white screen for an hour and a half, because the fog was so dense. I know mum likes cross country skiing, but.... I guess it was better than Eurovision.

Mum got this book for Christmas. How smart is your dog? Practical exercises to do at home. Written by an ethology professor. My mum is a science person, so she likes this book. We have now gotten so far as trying the first exercise. Does your dog understand pointing? It was like an experiment. Two cups smelling of treats, only one having one under it, mum pointing to the right one and did I go there? 10x2 repetitions, but we only did three. Of course I did!

I think they have overlooked a rather major potential error factor here. If mum points and I find a treat, I will quickly learn this behaviour rather than actually understanding what pointing in general means. Just saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.