Twice as nice

Some of my earliest childhood memories are of having Little Grey Rabbit books read to me, and enjoying hearing the adventures of the animal characters. Fuzzypeg the hedgehog and Moldy Warp the mole were particular favourites.
Recently I've found a few of the books in charity shops, and couldn't resist buying them. The one in the photo is a 1983 edition of a book that was originally published in 1938.
Knowing nothing about the books' author, Alison Uttley, I was interested to read the selections from her diaries, covering the years from 1932 to 1971  ( she was born in 1884 and died in 1976 ). I found it fascinating to read.  A fellow Sagittarian and mother of one, like me, The Guardian's reviewer of the book described her as a jealous, contemptuous woman. I couldn't see that myself. What came across to me was an intelligent woman, enormously gifted in storytelling, who didn't suffer fools gladly. I liked her a lot - she even loved rainy weather, as I do !
The tragedy of her life was that her husband committed suicide ( as did her son, albeit two years after her death ). What a fascinating person she was.
So, on a wet and very windy day, here's another little pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.