Toying around.

I didn't sleep  too well last night, as Hurricane Imogen was doing her worst. It didn't seem to bother J too much, as he was snoring his head off!  I went to the gym, and I took some warmer clothes to change into, as we were going straight to Porthcawl. We parked near the harbour, but it was a low tide, but although the swell was huge, the tide was low, so I didn't take my camera out of my bag. I could barely stand, and had to hang on tight to J or I would have been swept away. It was actually quite frightening. I was glad to get back in the car and come home. 
We bought this Dinky toy a few weeks ago at the fair  we visited in Barry. When I was in infant school, my Dad bought an old Post office van just like this one. He hand painted it, as you did in those days, and he painted it black on the bottom half, and turquoise on the top.  He sometimes used to meet me  from  school, and I asked him not to. When he asked me why, I said the kids are laughing at the van. I really don't know why, as most of them didn't even own a car.  As well as his day job, he used to move small items of furniture, to make some extra  money, and he had painted on  the side, Light Haulage  Contractor. Well, he did have three kids to feed and we never went without. Such happy days. The most exciting thing about finding this toy was, the actual number plate of my Dad's van was JLD  142.  How amazing is that, and yes, I can still remember it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.