The Green Dragon

I've been over to my Mum and Dad's today, once again on a work day, as my Dad phoned last week to ask him if I could help sort out his re-application for his driving licence, which apparently once you are past 70 you have to do every few years. He couldn't find the current licence, which he needed to return with the application.

By the time I went today though, he'd found the licence and done the form - all I had to do was check it! I could have gone tomorrow as normal! Never mind - now I have a free day to catch up with some housework! And make a start on the de-cluttering!

It is a showery, windy day again thanks to Storm Imogen! This photo of the Green Dragon pub is the only shot I took today as there was not much around to photograph. 

This magnificent four-gabled timber-framed building dates from c 1500, and probably began life as the house of a wealthy merchant, although it may have been on this site that the wool staple had stood up until the 14th century. The staple house was where wool for export was stored and the tax paid. 
Despite the antiquity of the building, the present Green Dragon has only been a public house since its restoration and extension in the late 1950s, replacing a much smaller brick-built pub of the same name that adjoined it on the east side. It was bought by the Common Council in 1569 from Thomas Grantham and by 1624 documentary records refer to the building as the Great Garrettes. It is known that there were six tenants at the time of sale, and seems to have remained as tenements and shops up until the 1950s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.