Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Tribal web

A quick safari in the salvia this morning found me something to blip for Tiny Tuesday.  I found another assassin bug with a lady bird pierced and there were some bees with full pollen bags buzzing around but I have gone for this spider (only about 2 cm) because of the crazy web it has weaved.  It looks rather tribal to me.  Aztec perhaps, maybe it is just my imagination.

Off to a branch meeting now so it's blip and run again.  Cheers maties,
catch you when I get back.

Edit:  I have just done a bit of research on the spider and I think it is a St Andrew's Cross spider.  Aparently the shape of the stabilimentum changes with the age of the spider. First it starts with a circular white web in the center. Later it changes to a cross and when the spider is full-grown only a small zig-zag remains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.