Life Is Full Of Pictures

By ChrisJordan

Waiting To Be Played

Since today is Fat Tuesday, I thought it appropriate to blip my trumpet that is waiting to be played.  Recently, my wife started a brass choir at our church and I am to be a member playing second trumpet.  This will be the first time in my life I have every played second trumpet.  Seriously? I usually play first trumpet.  What's going on?  Surely it can't be because I am older and haven't played in a few years or because we have a young lady who majored in trumpet in college in the group? 

Many years ago (18yrs) my wife and I met because of my trumpet.  She needed a trumpet player to play along with the choir for an anthem that she picked and I happened to be back in town.  So...a long story short, I played the anthem, joined the choir, smiled at my wife in the choir loft, and the rest they say is history.  Ha!  Seriously, I first saw her conducting the choir when I went back to my hometown church and asked a friend who she was because she caught my attention with her conducting style.  So, when she called me asking if I would play trumpet I was more than eager to help her. 

So, now...playing second trumpet...hmmm...well maybe I will just head to New Orleans today and join a band in a parade and play "Oh When The Saints Go Marching In".   Haha!  Naw, I better just head to work. *sigh*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.