Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Pancake Race 2016

Carys was asked to be in the Jupiter House team again this year for the annual school pancake race. It was a 'mostly' competitive and clean race. Jupiter ran away with it. This is Carys in the fourth leg of eight and already the other teams aren't even in shot!

You wouldn't know that she had spent most of the night awake coughing and burning up and in my bed, would you. Bless her she looked so poorly this morning she almost persuaded me that she shouldn't go to school. I can hear her coughing like a sealion now, so I think we will have another disturbed night.

I spent the afternoon running round town sorting out birthday presents for various of Carys's friends plus a few preholiday (shh, they still don't know) jobs done. Then collected kids from school, rapidly sorted C's hair for ballet and then headed out for a training course on ADHD. Very interesting and useful course at that.

Carys back from ballet snuggled up in my bed with me and we had a conversation about hormones, puberty and periods. As one friend pointed out, possibly the first of many, but as the Yr5's are doing it at school tomorrow and she is in a 4/5 class I thought she best hear it from me first. To be fair, she took it in her stride and when we were talking about hormones, in particular, oxytocin, she came out with the most wonderful quote:

"So the milk you made for me, was Love."

Yes my beautiful girl it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.