Allaboutus

By Allaboutus

Can I go now?

Our house is at the bottom of a hill, at this time of year we have a problem with young birds flying into the house windows. I have put ribbons up at the windows but it does not help much.

I keep a shoe box on standby to pick up any birds that hit the windows. I put them in the box for half an hour to recover. They often just need a bit of time in a dry safe place and they can go off on their way.

Today I picked up two birds, a young chaffinch and a young siskin. I managed to get a photo of the chaff while I was in the garden with him waiting for him to fly away. He did not realise the box was open but he soon got the message and flew off.

I am not sure what else we can do to stop them hitting the windows but it is nice to be able to help them and send them back on their way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.