Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Van Gogh blues

naked winter tree
a light falls from the blue sky
down onto life's stage

I have altered my choice of photos for the April show. Instead of the two photos of the homeless man sleeping on the pavement I blipped recently, I have decided to go with two shots of the same street corner photographed in January 2015 and January 2016, both showing soldiers in arms. The title of the diptych will be "Paris est une fête" (the French translation of Ernest Hemingway's "A Moveable Feast"). It has an obvious ironic meaning to it of course, but not only. The memoir, depicting Paris in a time where it was joyous indeed, is a portrait of nightlife, dining and drinking out: it was among the most sold books in the weeks following the 13 November attacks, at the same time as the French twittosphere rang with the #tousenterrasse hashtag.

You can find the six shots I have selected here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.