Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Rolls Royce

It was a pleasure to work on this Rolls Royce of a mechanism. It is a chain driven triple fusee chiming movement. The fusee is the conical gear onto which the chain winds, visible in the photograph of the disassembled parts. It equalises the torque of the spring in that the chain pulls on the narrowest section of the cone when the spring is fully wound and the widest section when the spring is slacker at the end of the week. The mechanism even has maintaining power allowing the clock to keep ticking when it is being wound. It is a complicated mechanism so lots of photos were taken and I had the images on the computer to help me remember the sequence of disassembly and assembly. I don't do these every day! My apologies to those who have no technical interest in all of this but I am sure you will indulge me once in a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.