Sorry Station #2

I decided to go all experiential and "kinetic" this Ash Wednesday.
In the middle of a standard prayer asking for forgiveness, which Anglicans can rattle off in their sleep, we stopped sitting and reading. Instead we moved and engaged with 3 sorry stations.

#1 was a sand box in which you could put your hand print as a way of considering the mark we leave in the world when we sin. It wasn't a very big box, but the sight of hand prints overlapping felt reassuring. We are in this together!

#2 was a big glass bowl with a selection of pebbles around it. We were asked to choose our stone, and consider its weight and the weight that holds us back from God.

#3 was a length of rope to which we tied lengths of wool. The strips of wool were of different lengths and colours, and was a way of handing over those worries that tangle and engage us.

And then we returned to finish our familiar "sorry" prayer, which had just become so much more meaningful.
I then had the honour of reminding those gathered that they lived in grace and that Good did forgive all their sins.

I went to the sand box and wiped it smooth.
I poured water on the stones and washed them clean.
I coiled up the rope and hung it on a large lenten cross.

Wow! The lump in my throat meant that it worked for me and looking around at the others, it was an experiment worth trying.
I wish you all a Holy Lent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.