I spy . . .

By Kitkat

Women in Leadership

This is the charming and entertaining Kitty Chisholm, a founder of one of the faculties at the OU.

The seminar was based around looking at some of the barriers of women in management roles or getting opportunities for promotion.

The seminar challenged my thoughts on where I want to be and I agreed with statements such as "confidence is a state of mind" or "create your own brand" and for the most part enjoyed it.

Question time left me angry and then annoyed with myself.

I was angry that people got defensive about identity as a mother, one wrong sentence from a male and they were ready to throw their hands up in indignation and acuse the men of being bias or am I being nieve?

I was annoyed that some of the issues revolve around confidence in the individuals which also shows there is a clear lack of support and staff development in my own organisation and due to money that will never change! (well at least in the next 5 yrs)

And then I was annoyed with myself for getting annoyed!

Rant over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.