Red brick for Dickens

Dickens Hard Times 2 (DHT2)
 

"It was a town of red brick, or of brick that would have been red if the smoke and ashes had allowed it; but as matters stood, it was a town of unnatural red and black like the painted face of a savage."


I have seen this building a few times now from the train going through Wolverhampton.  I'm not sure what it used to be - possibly some old lock factory - but it is going to be transformed into student accommodation eventually.  Meanwhile, I am so pleased that it is not going to be demolished as I think it has an elegant beauty about it and I can see all sorts of faces in it in various places...


One of the things we have been talking about on the two dementia awareness sessions I've been part of today is how some forms of dementia at some stages impinge on perception, how confusion can result from the lack of understanding to what an object might be.  So interesting the way the brain works...  Where do creative genii sit in that I wonder...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.