The Transformation.

Well you can guess where I have been today. Kevin phoned me last night, to ask me if I could volunteer today, as everybody else was unavailable.  Well what  could I say?  I can't believe how the church is transformed when all the gold is turned in on the altar for Lent.We did have an interesting day today. We hadn't been open for long, when an Irish guy, called Gerald came in. He had apparently visited last week as well. So far so good, and in the space of ten minutes , he didn't come up for air. He has  allegedly been in the special forces and the S A S. He was wounded when we has 24 , and then discharged. He then got himself fit. and went back in service. The only thing I know for sure, he was Irish and had definitely kissed the old blarney stone. Luckily Roy, the elderly gentleman came in. and he started chatting to him, and Kevin called me aside. He said that last week, he had talked solidly for two hours.  Tom, the young boy was also in, and I warmed to him more this week. He told us that his family are atheists and when he was about 14, he discovered God, and his parents went ballistic. They were really worried about him, and couldn't understand why  he had changed. He sits at the front of the church for ages, reading his bible, and then comes to join us. About an hour later, an older man came in, who told us he was a Catholic, so the conversation got a bit serious . Luckily, Kevin soon lightened it up , and it was time for us to finish. When I left I walked down to the gym, then to the library for a DVD, and then came home. Phew, I am exhausted now, but what an interesting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.