Blackberry Way

By bridgeman

Old gig tickets - surprise package

So, it was 33 years ago I went to see these three bands at ULU in Bloomsbury. Never a big fan of the Raincoats, I was there to see the Marine Girls, as I was a keen follower of Tracey Thorn (anyone looking for an explanation of my weakness for a shaved nape need wonder no longer). The Girls didn't disappoint and played a great set. But the revelation of the night were The Impossible Dreamers. This was before they shed members and signed to a big corporate, to my mind loosing what made them tick. They were six or maybe even seven strong, had unusual instruments (melodion and trombone as I recall) which they swapped between themselves between numbers. Also very unusual songs and time signatures, I still sing "Get Someone Else To Do It" to myself all these years later, and that was the only time I heard it. This set by the Dreamers is probably the best I have seen by any band, ever, period. Such a disappointment to see the post-sell out version supporting John Martyn onyly a year or so later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.