Eucalypts - Grey box

We have so many wonderful trees right here on our doorstep. Sitting in the dentist's rooms this morning, I looked at a stunning book on native Australian trees. This reminded Paladian and I that we have neglected these wonderful trees on Blip, and by chance yesterday I blipped a huge one called a Bunya Pine.

Today I have chosen a beautiful eucalypt almost outside our front door. Probably been past it a thousand times, so today I am sharing it on Blip. This one is called Eucalyptus microcarpa or Grey Box which is endangered in our Mt. Lofty region. The Belair National Park contains a very rare remnant of Grey Box forest.  It has been mostly all removed from our area when the trees were cleared years ago for housing. This one missed the chop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.