Quiet wood

It was chilly this morning, and a bit overcast when I set off for a quiet walk round the lake at Branston Water Park.

It started drizzling when I was half way there, but I decided to carry on anyway.  There were very few dog walkers, one cyclist who kept ringing his bell as he zoomed along the path, and two joggers.

Peace and tranquillity. The birds were singing and I could really appreciate the variety of the landscape. The reed bed, the canalside, and this fabulous and intriguing wood, with lichen, different shades of green and brown (and sometimes a woodpecker or a tree creeper.)

A delightful morning. I had just decided that I would go round the trail one more time as it was so lovely  - but when I got three quarters of the way round, the heavens opened.

A dash for the car. Home to a hot coffee and the hair-dryer. No harm done (except that I would have enjoyed another half hour or so.)

Have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.