Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Too late for "Meat, ma'am, meat."

Home day. Last chance to make a cake for Sunday (you know what day that is!). It's made but I need the rest of the afternoon to pretty it up.
I bought a gigantic chunk of shin of beef in Leeds Kirkgate Market yesterday, far too much to eat at one meal (I think at least six for the two of us). Rather than put it in the freezer I decided to cook it all then split it into meal portions for the freezer. It's in the slow cooker now so should be ready at bedtime, to be 'packaged' tomorrow.
I've only recently become a fan of the slow cooker. The first attempt was a disaster, having taken a lot of the advice on internet that you could just bung everything in it and it would be fantastic. Well, not to my taste. Basics of good cooking apply, so now I saute/seal the meat before putting it in the cooker and the taste is back.
Still not solved my Dickens challenge problem. No Writers Club tomorrow to escape to while Petronela does her Saturday chores so maybe I'll go out to see if I can find the scene I have in my head. If not I'll have to settle for one of the obvious ones.
Today could well have done for last week's challenge with quotes from Oliver Twist: "Meat, ma'am, meat."
Now, having had a short break to blip this, it's back to the cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.